Diet*Tarot Day 2: The High Priestess

Diet*Tarot Day 2: The High Priestess


Helllllooooooooooo High Priestess!

Let’s get this party started, shall we? Let us commence with the getting crunk with it, yes? Huzzah! The serfs rejoice, their jubilent cries of glee and exhaltation echoing sweetly down the hillside! Huzzah! Prepare to have your moneymakers shaken, not stirred!

HUZZAH? Can I get a what-what? What for? I don’t know man… I just work here.

No. No huzzah. Fail. The HP is not interested in any of that. The HP is what nips the Magician in the heels when he starts riding waves his surfboard can’t manage. LET’S GO SURFING NOW! EVERYBODY’S LEARNING HOW!

“Ummmm… Let’s not.” The HP says with a small hint of condescention. Not much, just a twinge. She knows a whole hell of a lot more than Captain Charisma with his wands, pents, chalice, and blade.

I feel like she’s lent a firm but gentle hand my way, as if to say “Yes, all of that enthusiasm is nice, but it’s not the only thing that will get you where you need to be. If you’re quiet and learn to listen to what your body already knows, it will help you in the long run.

Initially, I wasn’t sure quite what to do with her. The deep well of intuition, knowledge, forsight, and it’s implied receptivity is something I come back to time and time again in my spiritual practice. I seemed blocked from seeing where it applies to my eating habits.

I am starting to see it… There are seeds of potential waiting to be sown, and the HP sees them clearly for what they are. She’s not going to tell you, of course. You’re going to have to dive in the well and retrieve the answers for yourself. They are there, and she will gladly share them if you’re worthy. I need to be patient with myself and patient with the process. I need to look within, and she’s a good reminder of that. It’s not all about what I’m eating or not eating. There is more to it than that.

Keep calm and carry on? No. Keep calm and dive in, but don’t rush. Pay attention to your surroundings. They’ll be important later.

I did get a little flash of insight though… I got to thinking about foods that I absolutely cannot eat, or they might trigger a binge or a Tower-esque throwing in of the towel with a hearty “FUCKITALL!!!”. I can pass on these easily enough… I am able to do that. None of this “just-take-a-little-bite business”. True. I know this, but it’s hard to admit it. Well… it is what it is. I can change it through non-action rather than action. Take a bite or no? No. Not even one. I can see the HP nodding. I suppose that’s where she’s at her best. She’s the one who can present you with a reflection of how things really are. Not so that you’ll come charging out to take action, but that you’re empowered with knowledge. The fight comes later.

So the HP is good for understanding the why behind some of these issues. It’s not all about conquering with all guns blazing. Work needs to take place on the inside too. It’s a small thing, but it’s a start. It’s not just what you eat, but how you think about eating in general. Mindful eating… The HP is a big purponent of that. I know for me, thinking more consciously about why I am eating a particular or why I am hungry bumps things up another notch. It’s a different approach. I feel like I already know these things, but I needed them reflected back to me.

Message received, loud and clear. I’m not forcing things today. I am just going where the water leads me.

That is something I never seem to get around to.

One thought on “Diet*Tarot Day 2: The High Priestess

Leave a Reply

