Running Without Bulls & Reading Without Cards

Running Without Bulls & Reading Without Cards


I am an erratic Erisian at heart when it comes to doing readings. I don’t really keep a routine, and even when I make plans to at least do a daily draw before I leave for work in the morning, it never works out like I plan. The inspiration or the desire to do so crops up at odd times, usually when I’m not in a place where it’s feasible such as when I am bored off my ass at work. This happens quite frequently these days, thanks to the Tower cropping up in October, and my current Hermit/Hanging Man existence. The Star is present, so this will all be rectified soon. I like being busy. I don’t like sitting around with nothing to do. It may be temporary, but I don’t have to like it. One thing I’ve done a few times, while sitting at my desk looking busy, is using that classic of classics online tarot reading site at http://www.facade.com. Years and years and years ago, I think it was one of the first resources I discovered while doing rudimentary research on Tarot. It must have been 1996… It seems like an aeon ago, in internets years.

I wonder, are internet years like dog years? That’s a good question for Facebook or Twitter. We need not concern ourselves with that here. No, no! No non-tarot or non-spiritualesque philosofuckery on the Tarot Blog, Madam Eris! No! We cannot do eeet!

I always liked Facade, although there are plenty of other ways to read online. I generally reserve those for the curious noobs, and non-tarotistas, although for myself it’s nice to be able to have a means to electronically shuffle, pull some cards, and put them in a spread. If anything the randomness of the draw is more faithful, since it’s done electronically. I don’t rely on the meanings that the website gives, as that typically doesn’t mean much to me. With plenty of decks, and a good selection of spreads, I find that it usually suits whatever I’m needing. And… I still have the added benefit of looking like I’m working.

Sure, I don’t enjoy it as much as a traditional draw… I love the crisp snap of the cards as I shuffle my decks, poker-style. If a deck doesn’t have that sharp snap to it, the deck as a whole seems to lose something for me, regardless of whether I love the art or not. I love being drawn into a card, peering into it’s little microcosm of a world within a world, trying to see where each search for answers and meaning aligns. The luck of the draw, as you flip over each card is a just as much a psychological and spiritual act as it is a tactile one. There is a little catch, and I hold my breath for just a quick moment while I flip them over. Do I know what they are going to say? Sometimes. Will I like the answer? Not neccessarily. It’s like hitting the "Max Bet" button on a slot machine. The wheels and gears whirl around, and where they stop no one can know. And they will stop. And there are great possibilities. And there is a magic inherant in the process. The act of shuffling, drawing, flipping the cards over, and becoming lost in in what is revealed helps to make the connection for me. Being driven by fire and earth, I need physical acts, or that which is tangible to seal all metaphysical deals. It’s not enough to feel it in my heart or in my head. That’s for watery, and airy folk. Nope… there must be an active component for me, or it’s just not the same. (This relates heavily to Donald Michael Kraig’s "Dancing the Tarot", which I will eventually get around to doing a post about.)

Reading using an online tool is useful, but it’s missing something vital for me. Still… it will do in a pinch, like right now. I’m in the mood to do a daily draw from the comfort of my ergonomically correct desk.

So… Facade… What card is going to sum up my day today?

7 of Pents- This has been a recurring theme for me over the last week. I’ve been going over my finances in a major way. I was freaking out pretty seriously, thinking that I had completely messed up my credit by charging too much and spending too much on nothing. Now, looking at it more thoughtfully, I see that things aren’t really so bad. If anything, I’ve worked really hard and have accomplished a lot more than I’ve given myself credit for. I’m not behind on anything, and my debt is more manageable since taking a very close and mindful glimpse at it, rather than ignoring it. The time has come for a better longterm plan to pay some debt off, and I am at a turning point. I’m ready to do it. I am ready to make some changes. I’ve built upon my past challenges, and have become very good about budgeting and saving (even though I’m pretty indulgent with credit). I have the tools to make a plan, but I am deliberating. I’m not sure how I want to approach it. This is weighing heavily on my mind today. It’s daunting for now, but it is a positive thing in the longterm.

Not too shabby, Facade… Not too shabby at all! (This tendancy of anthropmorphizing my decks is becoming quite the habit. Maybe I’m an animist, and just don’t know it yet. Or maybe I’m schizophrenic and my voices haven’t told me yet.)

It seems pretty accurate. I’m going to have to play with this today. My workload is small so… let’s have at it! Woohoo!

3 thoughts on “Running Without Bulls & Reading Without Cards

  1. ❤ facade; don't know how I could have forgotten to link it. Bad, submerina, BAD!

    I've got a post on animism brewing. You are not alone in the anthropomorphizing department! I think it ties in with the mishing of the mash and the latent discordianism and magical realism. Or something intelligent-sounding along those lines.

    I'm about to go all 7 of Pents myself. Oops! But I shall have treasures! 7 of Pents stands for both, after all ;)))

  2. I can’t believe you forgot to link… it’s like the tarot-on-teh-internets equivalent of a Little Black Dress!

    It all goes together… I just haven’t figured out the philosophuckery to tie it together. Unfortunately, it’s going to take a lot more herbal intervention for me to completely figure it out.

    Wait… What? ^_^

Leave a Reply

