Harry Potter *is* Real!

Harry Potter *is* Real!


No tarot today… Just paganesque ranting. I’m throwin’ it down for Eclectic Town! Keepin’ it real while I beg, borrow, and steal. It was needed, and… uhhhhh… it’s The Chariot’s fault. Yeah. That’s the ticket.

I think I’d be best served by dropping the label of “Pagan” to anything that I’ve attached to my spiritual beliefs.

As an eclectic monistic polytheist, who practices some magic-with-a-k, it’s always seemed more of a convenience to me than anything else.

I tire of defending myself to a community I share some commonalities with, but am not truly a part of. I don’t really want to be a part of it because it’s simply too exhausting. Granted, I’m articulate and educated enough to be able to explain my religious schtick well enough to enlighten any critics I come across. For me personally, they’re few and far between.

Yet sometimes when I see things like this, I can’t help but think they’re tossing all of us eclectics out with the bathwater, without coming out and saying it. Not directly, anyway. I don’t fit into the group that this cat is prattling on about, and I don’t completely disagree with all of his points.

Thoroughly Post-Modern Millie, reporting for duty. I can’t help but think that people seeking to define their own spirituality without labels or dogma is an entirely bad thing. Sure there are idiots out there. I have a high degree of annoyance and distaste for all things White-Lighty-Light. I’d not begrudge anyone the chance to explore such ideas for themselves. It’s their path, not mine. Who am I to judge? I only know it’s not for me, and that what I believe is no better or worse.

Modern religions and systems of belief stem from many different sources and cultures. Little of what any of us believe or do happens in a vacuum. If people are so empowered to figure these things out for themselves without a little help from an established path, what harm is there in it? Granted, there are a lot of pompous tools out there who don’t know when to keep their mouths shut. It gets the kids all riled up, especially if they’re purists and there is some overlap. The accusations fly. If eclectics cannot back up what they say, they’re dead in the water. Might as well dish up some wasabi and wrap yourself around some rice, because you’re sushi, good brother!

My path is my own affair. I am constantly wary of misappropriating what I borrow, and also trying to understand the hand I’ve been dealt. As I’ve said before, I don’t have a road map. Most Eclectics don’t. But, I’m an Erisean, so… I don’t need a map! Ha-ha! The long strange trip is the point. Although I’m comfortable with the logic behind my path’s cohesive whole, I am a bit protective of other eclectics. Especially those who are in that glorious discovery phase, where everything is new, and you just want to talk about it! I don’t agree with all of Wicca Boy’s criticisms of them, New Age or not. I believe some of that has it’s place, but that most of it is more or less a friendly or comfortable jumping off point for some. If a Doreen Virtue book unlocks Pandora’s Box of Mysterious Mysteries and starts someone on their journey, who are we to judge?

Why not let it be? Whisper words of wisdom. Have a cocktail. Have a smoke. Let it be. Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

Hmmm… Words of Wisdom… Does a bear shit in the woods? I don’t know and I don’t care. I have my own shit to deal with. Oh, I am sagacious as fuck today! Jealous?

Oh, and by the way… Harry Potter is not real, but that does not mean that you can’t invoke Harry Potter for a fun little Chaos Magic somethin’-somethin’ for very real and specific purposes. Oh no you can’t? Oh. Yes. You. Can. Motherfucker. Bam! Yeah! (I don’t really enjoy Chaos Magick very much. It’s quite effective, but leaves me feeling rather empty. I need to do my will conforming with a little extra ritual panache. That being said… Where some women are attracted to men in uniform or men with money, I am hopelessly attracted to Chaotes. They do some really fascinating stuff, and there are no boundaries. It’s not right for me in practice, but philosophically it’s allllllllll good.

I am self-revoking my Pagan card, since all those damn Scott Cunningham books I read in the late 90’s aren’t enough for me to keep my street cred. It’s a show of solidarity! When I get annoyed, I seem to consider it my civic duty to take one for the team. For the greater good! Eris still wants me for a sunbeam.

As above, so below… Suck it, Trebeck.

Hail Eris, Full of Grace, and Pineapples from Outerspace. I have seen the fnords. They look like Harry Potter in drag.

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter *is* Real!

  1. Awww, lil’ baby pagan needs a stick-from-rectum-removal surgery STAT! So young, so serious. Then you get grey hairs and realise that it’s a all a giant cosmic joke anyway, so you might as well enjoy the ride woooooooooooo! (Hey, maybe I’m a little Erisian after all?)

    I understand the whole “quest for authenticity”, but can anyone _honestly_ say, as modern-day pagans, that our practices and beliefs are “accurate”? It’s all just best guesses at most. And what about a little an’ it harm none etc? Believe what ever the hell you want; it’s as likely to be true or real as anything.

    Unless you’re a Twatlighter – then all bets are off!

  2. Girl, you have the tower popping up way too often not to have a little Erisian in ya’. Do what you will with that little gem, but…

    Seriously, when it’s all a mish-mash based on some historical context, it’s a little tough to judge other mishers of mash.

    Twatlighters… Bawwhaahaaa! Word!

  3. Hush, you! I don’t need anymore goddess charms on my bracelet! But you’re right, I do suspect there’s a little golden delicious at my core. I am far too fond of doing things “just to see what happens” and etc…

    Now this Chaos Magic of which you speak… 😉

Leave a Reply

