Getting to Know You: Tarot of the Sephiroth

Getting to Know You: Tarot of the Sephiroth


Copyright (C) 1999 by U.S. Games Systems, Inc.

This is a deck interview with my latest addition, The Tarot of the Sephiroth. I ask some questions, pull some cards to see how it answers. This deck has serious personality! It’s bold, different, accessible yet esoteric all at the same time. It wants you to know that just because it’s pretty, that does not mean it does not hold answers to The Mysteries™.

Hi, I’m Eris… Can you please introduce yourself to me?

  • The Universe
  • The Moon

Well, well, well now! I think this means you pretty much cover the gamut from the inner landscape of spirits, gods, dreams and visions to the outward material world with great style and panache. I’m thinking you’re a do it all kind of deck, and that you do it with well-earned confidence. I’m feeling good about getting to know you better… I’m thinking you’re the total package. All that, and a bag of chips, as they say? I know, you’re not bragging, just telling it like it is. You have a lot of secrets to unlock and also a lot of wisdom you’ll easily share. It’s intriguing.

What do you want me to know about you?

  • Nine of Cups
  • Four of Wands

Has anyone ever told you that you’re very bold? I like that about you. You’ve got chutzpah, kid! It goes with the art, I think. I’m glad to see that a deck with so many vivid colors, frenetic lines, and hypnotic patterns has the right kind of attitude to go with it. You’ll make my wildest dreams and wishes come true, and we’ll have a damn good time doing it? Hells yeah, Sephi! Can I call you Sephi?

  • The Devil.

Hmmmm… Too familiar. You’d rather I didn’t. It might go to your head, and you find that distracting. We’ve already established that you have a bit of an ego and that you’re working on it. No problem. We’ll stick with Sephiroth.

How can I best work with you?

  • 2 of Swords
  • The Wheel of Fortune

I think we’re going to have fun working together… I think you’re saying that when I’m really stuck on something, you’d be very helpful. When it’s time to see where else to go, all I need to do is give you a little shuffle. Maybe you and I would work best for situations where I really don’t know where to turn next. The Wheel is a good sign. That tells me that whatever the outcome, you’ll be able to point me in the right direction so that I can move forward. We probably wouldn’t want to work together for daily readings or one-card spreads. I think you like to show off a bit more. I can’t resist a deck who likes a challenge!

Is there anything else I should know?

  • 5 of Swords
  • The High Priestess

Despite the energetic and slightly psychedelic bumptiousness of your aesthetic, you’re not simple. You’re not just one fine lookin’ deck. No… you have secrets and a deep well of knowledge. You’re a part of the mysteries, but it’s easy for someone like me to overlook, based on your stunning visual appeal. Sorry… Does this embarrass you? Ah, you know you’re really, really ridiculously good looking. But it’s more than that, isn’t it? You’ve got some good stuff to share, particularly in difficult situations. You won’t lie to me, and you won’t let me lie to myself. I think you can be a bit forceful in your opinions at times… It’s that ego again! But, I know that the well runs deep, and to overlook it and try back another day.

2 thoughts on “Getting to Know You: Tarot of the Sephiroth

  1. Hee! Sephiroth envy! Stop enabling me, dammit! I keed, I keed. Keep it up 😀

    I think Capt Sephiroth needs to hang with Ms Uptight Erotica and show her how to relax, let her hair down and revel in her splendour. Sephiroth is so pretty. Sooooo pretty. And the first Empress ever to not fill me with immediate anti-ness. Sephiroth WIN!

  2. I am here to enable, Madame! That’s what I do!

    I had to post a pic of the Empress… you seldom see her away from her throne, or… erm… “Fainting Couch”.

    That will certainly *not* do!

Leave a Reply

