6 of Cups… The Kids are Alright.

6 of Cups… The Kids are Alright.


Keywords:
Goodwill. Innocence. Joy. Childhood. Sharing. Giving. Sweetness. Nostalgia. Wistfulness. Goodness. Kindness. Gentleness. Warmth. Familiarity. The Little Things. Simplicity. Friendship. Playfulness. Youthful Naievete. Optimism. Idealism.
What Is Going On In This Card:
Two children, an older boy and a younger girl, possibly siblings or childhood sweethearts or playmates are playing together outside. They are in a small town or village, where the cobbled streets are lined with large cup-shaped pots filled with lovely white flowers. The boy stops for a moment, and reaches for one of the flower pots, deeply inhaling the fragrant scent. He holds it up so that the girl can also smell them for herself. There is a gentleness and a kind familiarity between them, as if they’ve grown up together and play together often. They are still at the age where their friendship is uncomplicated and innocent, unencumbered by responsibilities or gender roles that will effect their friendship as they grow older. Good things, and glad times abound in this village, and these two are free to experience it all together. Soon enough, they will transform into into adults and begin to bear the burdens that come with growing up. As they grow into their future roles as respectable, responsible adults, they will no doubt recall the idyllic and simpler times evoked by this childhood memory.
How It Makes Me Feel:
Sweetness & Light, wrapped in cotton candy, chased by golden retriever puppys! It’s hard not to look at this card without thinking of one’s own fond childhood memories. The scene has a sweetness and a gentleness that we sometimes miss in our busy, stressful, hectic adult lives. The only thing it’s missing is a basket of kittens. It makes me think of pushing my little brother on our tire swing, or pulling him in our red toy wagon. It’s a good, warm kind of feeling. I remember lazy summer days, eating icecream, and enjoying the best parts of being a kid. I think of the first half of the movie “My Girl”, and the close childhood friendship between Macaulay Culkin and Anna Klumsky(sp?)’s characters. It also reminds me of the early relationship between Kevin Arnold and Winnie Cooper from The Wonder Years. The whole premise of the show was Kevin looking back on his childhood, with this friendship in particular. There are far too many 6 of Cups moments to recall. The way we remember things aren’t always exactly how they were, but the way they make us feel when we think of them are really what matters most. Sure, my little brother was a tire swing hog who’d whine and howl if I took the first swing, but I pushed him anyways. There are plenty of happy moments adults go through, but this card has such a current of innocence to it that the kids seem to have everything to do with it. The kids? The kids are alright.
What Does The Card Have To Say?
“I’ve got sunshine
On a cloudy day.
When it’s cold outside,
I’ve got the month of May.

Well, I guess you’ll say
What can make me feel this way?
My girl. (My girl, my girl)
Talkin’ ’bout my girl. (My girl)”

Leave a Reply

