4 of Wands

4 of Wands


1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6.

Images posted for study & meditation purposes only: 1. Rider Waite Smith 2. Crowley’s Thoth Tarot © US Games 3. Zerner-Farber Deck © Amy Zerner & Monte Farber, 4. Spiral Tarot by Kay Steventon © US Games 5. The Goddess Tarot by Kris Waldherr © US Games 6. Sakki-Sakki Tarot © Monicka Clio Sakki

I’ve decided to work through the minors for my random card exploration… I think it might be better for me to explore the Majors through the Fool’s Journey, and also because I don’t struggle when I pull individual majors as much. Certain minors, when they pop up in a reading can really throw me, and I think it’s because I haven’t given them enough thought. My descriptions are taken from the RWS. Gotta keep it classic, yo.

Keywords:
Freedom. Jubilation. Excitement. Anticipation. Joy. Merriment. Party! Revelry. Letting loose. Celebrating. Afterparty. Wedding. Initiation. Reception. Welcoming. Warmth. Togetherness. Special Occasion.
What Is Going On In This Card:
We see some sort of event, celebration or party taking place. Perhaps a wedding, initiation, or coronation of some sort. There seems to be a formality about it, but it’s still a party none the less. From a distance, the welcoming guests or hosts becon, bearing flowers and good cheer. It’s a beautiful day, with beautiful weather, garlands of flowers, and everyone seemingly decked out in their best. One is far enough away from the action to feel a sense of excitement and anticipation as they walk through the beatifully decorated arbor held up by four wands. You can see other revelers in the background, letting you know that this is quite the occasion.
How It Makes Me Feel:
This card makes me feel warmly welcomed by my host, and ready to share a memorable time with them. It seems to be semi-formal or structured at least, but with an air of gaiety and revelry. Pomp & Circumstance, then drinking and dancing till dawn. It makes me feel as if I am part of something very special, and gracious to my hosts for having included me. The anticipation is there too… not unlike a wedding, graduation, or some kind of rite. I feel a hint of ritual, but the ritual isn’t the reason for excitement… the afterparty is! It hints of cutting loose or celebrating, not unlike Carnival in Rio, or Mardi Gras.  I could see this coming up when there is a great celebration after a difficult time or project, or the after party that precedes a more formal event. It’s an explosion of jubliance… so I assume there is a build-up that lead to a need to cut loose. It’s not a New Year’s party… It’s like going to Cabo for Spring Break after midterms… for a pre-med student working two jobs to pay for school. It is earned, or worked for in a way. I think of a group of ad execs, long at work on an arduous project that they’ve toiled and slaved over, sacrificing sleep, fun, and time with their families. This was no small account… this was Acme, Inc. It was a campaign that could make or break their company and careers. It was a great success, and they received much recognition from upper management and from the client. Today, they just found out that they’ve won a prestigious industry award for the campaign. None of them can believe it… It’s an incredible honor to receive such an award. They’re stunned, excited, and ready to celebrate. The CEO has made sure that no expense will be spared… The champagne is flowing, the toasts are being made, and a much-needed good time will be had by one and all.
What Does The Card Have To Say?
We’ve gotta fight… For our rights… to PARRRRTAY! I fought the Party Gods, and the Party Gods won! Huzzah! Toga! Toga! Toga! Everybody dance now… Doot-doot-doot-doot! 
One thought on “4 of Wands

  1. You know what always struck me about this card? The “pagan-ness” of it. It might point to a modern celebration like a formal wedding etc. but I always see far deeper roots. “Ritual” is a very important part of this card; it is an ancient rite being undertaken. You can dress it up in a tux and shiny shoes, but it’s still going to rip its clothes off and frolic in the moonlight as soon as your back is turned 😉 In that way, I think you are very right about the after-party aspect (thinking especially of wedding night bow-chicka-wow-wow), the pay-off for being “good”.

Leave a Reply

