6 of Wands

6 of Wands


Alrighty, looks like we’ve got the 6 of Wands today… I’m going to use images from a variety of decks. I own and use all of the above decks, amongst others. I wanted to give some variety beyond RWS, and I think we’ve nailed it. It’s not easy to find images of full decks online, but I was lucky enough to run into a few of my favorites. If you like the deck, buy the deck!

1. 2. 3. 4. 5.6.

Images posted for study & meditation purposes only: 1. Rider Waite Smith 2. Crowley’s Thoth Tarot © US Games 3. Zerner-Farber Deck © Amy Zerner & Monte Farber, 4. Spiral Tarot by Kay Steventon © US Games 5. The Goddess Tarot by Kris Waldherr © US Games 6. Sakki-Sakki Tarot © Monicka Clio Sakki

Keywords:
Victory. Acclaim. Pride. Ego. Win. Recognition. Success. Accomplishment. Champion. Competition. Rewards. Tangible results.

What Is Going On In This Card:
A man on horseback rides into a scene with a cheering crowd, who welcome and seem to celebrate his return from somewhere. He seems to have crossed the finish line, or completed a task to great acclaim and aplomb. He appears to have slain the dragon, and returned to the village. He’s vanquished the scourge of evil that’s plagued them for so long. They riot around him, cheering and shouting his name. He can’t help but feel a swell of pride in his victory. He’s fought long and hard… He deserves this chance in the sun. He intends to enjoy it.

How It Makes Me Feel:
I think of someone having a remarkable drive and tenacity with this card. They are pushed forward in their quest or in their role by some kind of inner fire. They burn to win. When I see this card in a reading, it often seems to signify real and tangible success. Whatever I’m worried about, or working on, I will ultimately arrive where I want to. It’s almost like a great torch lighting the way through the darkness. I’ve pulled this card in a reading many times, where I ended up having great success in whatever I was trying to accomplish. I’ve had it come up in all kinds of different contexts, and it’s appearance seems consistant.

What Does It Remind Me Of?
I am reminded of The Hero with Many Faces. The Hero could be flawed, and driven by his own ego just as much as helping the villagers. Or perhaps he’s come into himself through this quest, and it’s undeniable to all those around him. I think of people in the sales industry, fighting to make more commissions, fighting with their peers to rank amongst the best. The 6 of Wands is the top salesmen. I also think of athletes like Lance Armstrong, who faced great odds only to emerge stronger and more victorious than ever. I think of Rocky. I think of someone accepting an Academy Award. I think of a child getting a blue ribbon in the science fair, but not the class genius. A kid that has to fight a little bit harder for her victory, who is smart but lacks resources. Who fought tooth and nail to put together a good project, and while it seemed the judges would pick the same class genius they always did, they noticed her project. They saw the level of detail in her research. They recognized that she has a small spark of genius too… it’s just more subtle. More hidden. She didn’t expect to win, and when she does she can hardly believe it. She’s dazzled by all of the attention. Teachers who never bothered with her before are congratulating her for her hard work. It feels good to be noticed. She’s trying not to let it go to her head, but she is proud of her accomplishment. As well she should be.


What Does The Card Have To Say?

Put a garland round’ my neck! Let’s celebrate… ME. I am success. I am VICTORY. I am WIN. There is an I in Team Work, bitches. It’s soundtrack? Definitely Queen. “We are the champions, my friend… And we’ll keep on fighting till the end…”

2 thoughts on “6 of Wands

  1. Great interpretation and I like the stories you’ve made up to go along with it. I’m still struggling with the stories part on interpretation; my tarot hamstrings are too tight. I think I’ll be saving your last paragraph as one of the “official” meanings of this card!

    p.s. You haz Sakki-Sakki? I haz a jeluz.

  2. Oh yes, I haz Sakki-Sakki! I got it for my birthday last year. I can’t read with it AT ALL because of my Rider-Wait-Smith-Itis, but it’s still one of my very favorite decks. Ever. It’s just so happy and Full of Awesome and Win.

Leave a Reply

